Indian History

List of Prime Ministers of India

List of Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister is the most superior of the cabinet in the administrative branch of government. Prime Minister chooses and may dismiss other members in the cabinet, they have all powers and authorities about the government.

So, here we have lists of Prime Ministers in India.

List of Prime Ministers of INDIA

  1. Jawaharlal Nehru
  2. Lal Bahadur Shastri
  3. Gulzarilal Nanda
  4. Morarji Desai
  5. Charan Singh
  6. Indira Gandhi
  7. Rajiv Gandhi
  8. V. P. Singh
  9. Chandra Shekhar
  10. P. V. Narasimha Rao
  11. H. D. Deve Gowda
  12. I.K Gujral
  13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee
  14. Manmohan Singh
  15. Narendra Modi

List of PMs of India

1. Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India, and he is the important person in Indian politics before and after Independence. He was born on November 14th 1889, in Allahabad, on his birthday children will celebrate children’s day. His parents are Mothilal nehru and Swaruprani Thussu.

He was married to Kamala Nehru, and Nehru was died in 27th May 1964, New Delhi.

Jawaharlal Nehru’s famous quotes are:

  • Life is like a game of cards. The hand that is dealt you is determinism; the way you play it is free will.
  • Culture is the widening of the mind and of the spirit.


2. Lal Bahadur Shastri

Lal Bahadur Shastri

He is the second Prime Minister of Republic of India, and he is the chief of the Indian National Congress Party. He is also one  of the member in Independence movement in 1920. He was born on October 2nd 1904, Mughalsarai his parents are  Ramdulari Devi, Sharada Prasad Srivastava, He guided the country throughout the Indo-Pakistan War of 1965.

His slogan of “Jai Jawan Jai Kisan”. Became very famous during the war and is remembered even today. He died in 11th January 1966 Tashkent. He is awarded with Bharat Ratna.

3. Gulzarilal Nanda

Gulzari Lal Nanda

Gulzarilal Nanda was the Prime Minister of India for two short interval times backing the death of Jawaharlal Nehru in 1964 and also Lal  Bahadur Shastri in 1966. He was an Indian politician and also Economist in which he is particularly famous in labour issues.

Gulzarilal Nanda was born in July 4 1898, Sialkot in Pakistan. His parents were Bulaqi Ram Nanda, Ishwari Devi Nada.he is awarded with Bharat Ratna,  Padma Vibhushan. He died in January 15 1998.

4. Morarji Desai

Morarji Desai

Morarji Desai the Prime Minister of India from 1977 to 1979, and was an Indian independence revolutionary. He guides India first non-Congress Government, he was born on 29 February 1896 in Valsad.

His famous books are The story of my life, Nature cure. And also awarded with Bharat Ratna. He died on 10 April 1995, Mumbai.

5. Charan Singh

Charan Singh

Charan singh was the Prime Minister of the Republic of India from July 1979. He was born on 23 December 1902, noorpur Uttar pradesh.

He done his education at  Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University, and his famous books are India’s Economic Policy: The Gandhian Blueprint, he died on 29 May 1987 New Delhi.

6. Indira Gandhi

Indhira Gandhi

Indira Gandhi full name was  Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi, she is the member of  Nehru family, she is born as Indira Nehru on 19th November 1917 in Allahabad in a Kashmiri Pandit family.

Jawharlal Nehru is the father of Indira Gandhi and he is main member in Indian politics, and also fight for Independence from British ruling and he became first Prime Minister of India. Her mother was Kamala Nehru a large family estate in Allahabad at Anand Bhavan.

Her famous quotes are:

  • You cannot shake hands with a clenched fist.
  • The power to question is the basis of all human progress.
  • Forgiveness is a virtue of the brave.

7. Rajiv Gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi was the seventh Prime Minister of India from 1984 to 1989, he took role after the assassination of his mother in 1984. His mother is the Prime Minister of India. At the age of 40 he became Prime Minister of India, he is the youngest Prime Minister in India.

He was born on 20 August 1944 Mumbai. His parents are  Indira Gandhi, Feroze Gandhi. He got married to Sonia Gandhi in 1968, he also awarded with  Bharat Ratna, Indira Gandhi Prize.

8. V. P. Singh

V P Singh

P. Singh his full name was Raja Vishwanath Pratap Singh, he is the 7th Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1990. He was an Indian politician and government official, he was the 41st nominal Raja Bahadur of the northern feudal estate of Mandal.

He was born on June 25 1931 Allahabad. His famous books are

  • Vishwanath Pratap Singh: Politician
  • Painter
  • Poet
  • Every Time I Wake Up.

9. Chandra Shekhar

Chandra Shekar

Chandra Shekar was the 8th Prime Minister of India. He was born on 1 July 1927, Ibrahimpatti, he served as Prime Minister from November 10th 1990 to June 21 1991. His education wa done at University of Allahabad.

Chandra Shekar party name is Samajwadi Janata Party, and his famous books were Dynamics of Social Change. He was died on 2007 July 8 New Delhi.

10. P. V. Narasimha Rao

P V Narsimha Rao

V. Narasimha Rao his full name was Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao, he served as 9th Prime Minister of India from 1991 to 1996. He was lawyer and an Indian politician.

He was born on 28th June 1921, in Vangara at Karimnagar. His party name is Indian National Congress. His famous books are Ayodhya 6 December 1992, The Insider. He was died on 23rd December 2004.

11. H. D. Deve Gowda

Deve Gowda

D. Deve Gowda his full name was Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda. He was born on May 18th 1933. Formerly he was the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1994 to 1996.

He is an Indian Politician who was the Prime Minister of India from 1994 to 1997.

12. I. K. Gujral

I K Gujral

Inder Kumar Gujral he was the third PM to be from the Rajya Sabha, he was born on  4 December 1919, Jhelum, Pakistan. The first existence was  Indira Gandhi and the second H. D. Deve Gowda. He was died on 30 November 2012. Gujral was an Indian politician and he performed as Prime Minister of India from  April 1997 to March 1998.

13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee


Atal Bihari Vajpayee was an Indian Politician and the 10th Prime Minister of India. first for 13 days in 1996 and then from 1998 to 2004. He was born on  25 December 1924. His famous books are  Decisive days, Meri Ekyavan Kavitayen.

He also awarded as Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan.

His quotes are:

  • You can change friends but not neighbours.
  • Global interdependence today means that economic disasters in developing countries could create a backlash on developed countries.

14. Manmohan Singh


Manmohan Singh is an Indian economist and politician who performed as the Prime Minister of India from 2004 to 2014. He was born on 26 September 1932, he was awarded as CNN-IBN Indian of the Year in Politics, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year.

15. Narendra Modi


Narendra Modi full name was Narendra Damodardas Modi. He was the 14th Prime Minister of India and he is current Prime Minister since may 2014. He was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, and he is the Member of Parliament for Varanasi.

He was born on 17 September 1950. And his parents were  Heeraben Modi, Damodardas Mulchand Modi.

Also Read:

Presidents of India

Role of Women in Indian Freedom Struggle

Review Date
Reviewed Item
Prime Ministers of India
Author Rating
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top