Indian National Flag

Evolution of Indian National Flag

Significance of Indian national flag colours – Every nation has its own flag which represents the face of the nation to the world. The National Flag of India looks in a rectangular shape designed horizontally using three different colors – Saffron being on the top,  white occupied in the middle and Green placed at the bottom. In the center portion of the middle colour i.e., white consists of “Ashoka chakra”(meaning Wheel of Law) appears in navy blue colour with twenty four spokes in the wheel.

Today’s national flag was approved in the meeting of the Constituent Assembly in the year 1947 on 22nd July. The current Indian flag was announced officially by the Authority of India. Indian National Flag is also called as “Tiranga”(means three colours) and is based on Swaraj flag, designed by Pingali Venkayya. The meaning of Swaraj flag is the flag of INC(Indian National Congress).

Indian National Flag – Significance of Colors

Indians show great respect to Indian National Flag, which has great importance. Indian National Flag is created using a special fabric called “Khadi”( hand-spun fabric/cloth familiarized by the Mahatma Gandhi). BIS(Bureau of Indian Standards) is held responsible for designing and manufacturing method of the flag. Despite, KDVIC(Khadi Development and Village Industries commission has the right to prepare the flag. But in 2009, KKGSS(Karnataka Khadi Gramudyoga samyuktha Sanga) has been one and only to manufacture the Indian National Flag.

Indian National Flag Colours Meaning

Saffron meaning in Indian Flag

The top portion of the national flag is decorated with Saffron colour which represents selflessness and courage of the nation. Saffron is a common colour of the religions such as Buddhism, Jainism and Hinduism. Saffron colour signifies the abdication and renunciation of the ego of the people of various religions of India and integrate them to show them as one. This colour enables the political leaders of the nation to be work-minded for the development of the country without expecting any personal advantages and also take an undue advantage of their power.

Importance of Indian Flag White Colour

White Color

The middle portion of the Indian national flag is decorated by white colour which indicates the peace, purity and the honesty of the country. In relation to Indian philosophy, white symbolizes about the knowledge and cleanliness. It represents the pathway of truth in order to escort the country. It reminisce the political leaders of the country to achieve the objective of the country by maintaining peace and harmony.

Green Color

The bottom portion of the flag is decorated by the Green colour, that indicates prosperity, fertility and faith of the country. In consonance with Indian philosophy, green colour bespeaks about the life and happiness, stabilizing and festive colour.  It bethinks the political leaders of the nation to safeguard and protect the indian oneness from demolition activities hit by both, internal and external enemies of the nation.

Ashoka Chakra (Wheel of Law)

Ashoka Chakra, also referred to “Wheel of Law” which consists of 24 spokes in the wheel, which is located in the centre of the flag. In relation to Hinduism, number 24 has great importance in the Puranas. Number 24 indicates – 24 Dharma Rishis of the Himalayas gets indicated with 24 letters of the ageless Gayatri Mantra, and 24 valued hours in a whole day.

Ashoka Chakra in Indian National Flag

Ashoka Chakra in Indian national flag has great significance. Long ago, Lord Buddha got enlightenment(nirvana) in the Gaya and became Sarnath and met his five disciples – Ashwajeet, Bhadrak, Kaundinya, Kashyap and Mahanaam, these are also called as Panch Vargiya Bhikshu. Lord Buddha taught his disciples his first lecture explaining about the Dharmachakra and spreading them. The teachings were taken by the king Ashoka to indicate on the top of his pillars which later turned out to be the ashoka Chakra in the Indian national flag. The Ashoka chakra in the Indian flag symbolizes strong association of the nation with Buddhist belief.

Half of the 24 spokes represents the preaching of Lord Buddha and another half are connected with their similar symbols like:

  1. Avidya – Lack of knowledge
  2. Bhava – Coming to be
  3. Jati – Being born
  4. Jaramarana – Old age
  5. Namarupa – Name and form
  6. Samskara – Shaper
  7. Sparsha – Contact
  8. Sadayatana – Six senses such as body, ear, eye, nose, tongue and mind
  9. Trsna – Thirst
  10. Upadana – Grasp
  11. Vedana – Pain
  12. Vijnana – Consciousness

Indication of the colour of Ashoka Chakra

Ashoka Chakra will be in navy blue colour. This colour represents the loyalty of the universe. It also signifies the colour of the ocean and sky.

24 Spokes indicates these according to Hinduism:

In relation to Hindu religion, 24 spokes in the Indian flag indicates the Dharma, the life means such as:

  1. Courage
  2. Empathy
  3. Faithfulness
  4. Gracefulness
  5. Goodness
  6. Gentleness
  7. Hope
  8. Humility
  9. Justice
  10. Love
  11. Moral values
  12. Magnanimity
  13. Mercy
  14. Peacefulness
  15. Patience
  16. Righteousness
  17. Spiritual wisdom
  18. Self-sacrifice
  19. Self-control
  20. Selflessness
  21. Sympathy
  22. Spiritual knowledge
  23. The fear of God
  24. Truthfulness

Indian National Flag Evolution

  • Indian National Flag First Hoisted in 1906

Indian National Flag, 1906

As stated, the first Indian flag was hoisted in the year 1906 on August 7 in Green Park (formerly known as Parsee Bagan Square) in Kolkata (previously known as Calcutta). The flag contained 3 horizontal segments of Red, Yellow and Green colors, 8 lotus symbols on the red color segment, symbols of crescent moon and the sun on the red color segment which looks like this:

  • Indian National Flag Second Hoisted in 1907

Indian National Flag, 1907

The Indian National Flag was hoisted for the second time in Paris by Madame Cama and her troop of expatriated revolutionaries in the year 1907. The flag appeared similar to the first flag but with 7 stars and one lotus symbol. The seven stars represents the Saptharishi. This flag was displayed at a Socialist Conference in Berlin.

  • Indian National Flag Third Hoisted in 1917

For the third time, Indian national flag went up in the year 1917 during the Home Rule movement. Lokamanya Tilak and Dr.Annie Besant hoisted the flag when there was an agitation in the Indian politics. Have a look at the flag below.

Indian National Flag, 1917

  • Indian National Flag Unofficially Adopted in 1921

During the conference of the AICC(All India Congress Committee) which happened in Vijayawada(previously named as Bejawada), an Andhra youngster created a flag and showed to Mahatma Gandhi. When shown to Gandhiji, it was comprised of two colors red and green, indicating the two sections- Hindus and Muslims. Later, Gandhiji suggested to add white color to the duo and a symbol of spinning wheel which looked like this:

Indian National Flag, 1921

  • Indian National Flag Adopted in 1931

The year 1931 was a turning point in the history of the Indian national flag. A verdict was passed to the nation to adopt a tricolor flag as Indian national flag. The flag comprises of  the colors – Saffron, White and Green along with Mahatma Gandhi’s Spinning wheel in the centre of the flag which looks like this:

Indian National Flag, 1931

  • Indian National Flag Adopted in 1947

In the year 1947 on 22nd July, the Constituent Assembly approved it as free India National flag. After the onset of the independance, the order of the colours and their importance continued the same but the spinning wheel was replaced by the Ashoka Chakra.

Indian National Flag, 1947

Also Read:

Lokamanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyaya


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here